‘Encanto’, ‘Lovecraft Country’ and ‘GTA Online’ among nominees for 2022 Music Supervisors Guild Awards

The Guild of Music Supervisors unveiled the nominees for the group’s 12th annual awards ceremony on Thursday, honoring music supervisors in film, television, advertising and video games.

Among the nominees for the film categories are “Being the Ricardos,” “Encanto,” “Barb And Star Go To Vista Del Mar,” “The Harder They Fall,” “The Tender Bar,” and “Tick, Tick… Boom”. Meanwhile, some of the television nominees include ‘The Crown’, ‘Cruel Summer’ and ‘Genius: Aretha’.

Nominees for music supervision in trailers include “The Matrix Resurrections” and “Spencer,” while nominees for video games include “Grand Theft Auto: Online – The Contract” and “FIFA 22.”

As previously announced, Diane Warren will receive the Icon Award, while Mitchell Leib will receive the Legacy Award, which honors “music supervisors who have excelled in the craft of music supervision.”

Read the full list of nominees below:

Best Musical Supervision for a Film Budgeted Over $25 Million

Mary Ramos – Being the Ricardos
Tom MacDougall – Encanto
Michelle Silverman – The More They Fall
Linda Cohen – The Tender Bar
Steven Gizicki – Tick, tick… Boom!

Outstanding Musical Supervision for a Motion Picture Under $25 Million

Pierre-Marie Dru – Annette
Julianne Jordan, Justine von Winterfeldt – Barb and Star go to Vista Del Mar
Becky Bentham – Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
John Houlihan – Tammy Faye’s Eyes
Tracy McKnight – Flag Day

Best Musical Supervision for a Motion Picture Under $10 Million

Victoria Beard, Sean Mulligan – Blue Bayou
Katie Colley, Sean Mulligan – The Hate Game
Alexandra Eckhardt – Passage
Mandi Collier, Frankie Pine – Sylvie’s Love
Rob Lowry – The Ultimate Noise Playlist

Best Musical Supervision for a Motion Picture Under $5 Million

Andrea von Foerster – Fortunately
Jen Malone – Malcolm & Marie
Matthew Hearon-Smith – Red Rocket
Henrik Hawor, Silje Katralen, Goran Obad, Emilie Sørensen – The worst person in the world
Mandi Collier, Jen Malone, Nicole Weisberg-Zol

Best Song Written and/or Recorded for a Motion Picture

“Guns Go Bang” from The Harder They Fall
Songwriters: Jeymes Samuel, Scott Mescudi, Shawn Carter
Performers: Kid Cudi, Jay-Z
Music Supervisor: Michelle Silverman

“My Father’s Daughter” from Flag Day
Songwriters: Glen Hansard, Eddie Vedder
Performers: Eddie Vedder, Glen Hansard, Olivia Vedder
Music Supervisor: Tracy McKnight

Encanto’s “Dos Oruguitas”
Songwriter: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Performer: Sebastian Yatra
Music Supervisor: Tom MacDougall

“Fire In The Sky” by Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
Songwriters: Anderson .Paak, Bruno Mars, Son Tzu, Rogét Chahayed, Wesley Singerman, Taylor Dexter, Alissia Benveniste
Performer: Anderson .Paak
Music Supervisor: Dave Jordan

“Be Alive” by King Richard
Songwriters: Beyoncé, Dixson
Performer: Beyonce
Music Supervisor: Susan Jacob


Best Music Supervision – Television Drama

Sarah Bridge – The Crown – Season 4
Kevin Edelman – Cruel Summer – Season 1
Jen Ross – Genie: Aretha – Season 3
Liza Richardson – Lovecraft Country – Season 1
Iain Cooke – It’s A Sin – Season 1

Best Musical Supervision – Television Comedy or Musical

Jason Alexander, Justin T. Feldman – Dave – Season 2
Matt Biffa – Sex Education – Season 3
Janet Lopez – The White Lotus – Season 1
Jen Ross – Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist – Season 2
Jonathan McHugh – Blindspotting – Season 1

Best Music Supervision – Reality TV

Peter Davis – The Challenge: All Stars – Season 1
Sarah Bromberg, Stephanie Diaz-Matos, Eric Medina – Sweet Life: Los Angeles – Season 1
Jason Markey – Fboy Island – Season 1
Jon Ernst – Siesta Key – Season 4

Best Music Supervision – TV Movie

Nicki Richards – American Pie Presents: Girls Rules
Laura Webb, Lindsay Wolfington – To All the Boys: Always and Forever
Mikki Itzigsohn, Willa Yudell – The Voyeurs

Best Song Written and/or Recorded for Television

Title: “Look at us”
Songwriters: Mike Aaberg, Joseph Epperson, Lauren Evans, Mounir Ghantous, Tony Ghantous, Goapele K.
Mohlbane, Faraji Wright
Performers: Goapele (feat. Rexx Life Raj)
Program: main class
Music supervisor: Julie Glaze Houlihan

Title: “F*** The Pain Away”
Songwriter: Merrill Nisker (aka Peaches)
Performers: The Moordale Singers and Oli Julian
Program: Sex Education
Episodes 302 and 307
Music Supervisor: Matt Biffa

Title: “Beginning Middle Late”
Songwriters: Leah Nobel, Quinn Redmond
Performer: Leah Nobel
Program: To All the Boys: Always and Forever
Music supervisors: Laura Webb, Lindsay Wolfington

Title: “Change”
Songwriters: Ronald Colson, Jeff Gitelman, David Harris, Maxx Moore, Gabriella Wilson
Performer: SHE
Program: We the People
Episode 101 – “Active Citizenship”
Music Supervisor: Jen Ross

Title: “Anyone”
Songwriters: Badriia Ines Bourelly, Dayyon Alexander Drinkard, Demi Lovato, Eyelar Mirzazadeh, Jay Mooncie, Samuel Elliot Roman
Performers: Zoey’s (Skylar Astin) Extraordinary Playlist Cast
Schedule: Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist
Episode 209 – “Zoey’s Extraordinary Mystery”
Music Supervisor: Jen Ross


Best Musical Supervision for a Documentary

Jonathan Hecht – Dear Rider
Tracy McKnight – Rebellious Hearts
Maureen Crowe, Janet Billig Rich – Sisters on the Right Track
Gary Welch – The Sparks Brothers
Angela Asistio – Val

Best Musical Supervision in a Docuseries

Ian Broucek, Kevin Writer – Edit: The Fight for America
Amin Ramer – HBO Music Box Series: “Mr. Saturday Night,” “Woodstock 99: Peace, Love, and Rage,” “Juice
WRLD: Into the Abyss”, “DMX: Don’t Try To Understand”, “Jagged”, “Listening to Kenny G”
James Cartwright – The Lady and the Dale
Jon Ernst – Last Chance U: Basketball
Iain Cooke – 1971: the year music changed everything


Best Musical Supervision in a Trailer

Will Quiney – CODA
Toddrick Spalding – King Richard
Holly Williamson – The Matrix Resurrections
Natalie Wali – Spencer
Gregory Sweeney – Scenes from a Wedding


Best Music Supervision in Advertising (Synch)

Jonathan Wellbelove – Apple – “iPhone 12 – Fumble”
Sunny Kapoor, Mike Ladman – Meta – “Skate Nation Ghana”
Jonathan Hecht, Mike Ladman, Brandy Ricker, Sarah Tembeckjian – Reform Alliance – “Technically Illegal”
Jeremy Daw, JT Griffith – Nike – “Together Again”
Josh Marcy, Liz Pfriem – Apple – “iPhone Privacy – Tracking”

Best Music Supervision in Commercials (Original Score)

Neil Cleary, Kristen Hosack – Lexus – “Lexus Sparks Campaign”
Jennie Armon, Matt Nelson – YouTube Originals – “Life In A Day 2020: Strangers On The Road”
Kurt Steinke – Venus – “Venus – The Pube Song”
Jonathan Hecht, Sarah Tembeckjian – New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Foundation, The Trombone Shorty
Foundation – “Rise And Shine”
Josh Marcy, Nicole Palko – Apple – “Startup | A song made from 45 years of Apple sounds »


Best Musical Supervision in a Video Game

Venus Bentley, Steve Schnur – Battlefield 2042
Simon Landry, Greig Newby, Eduardo Vaisman – Far Cry 6
Raphaella Lima, Cybele Pettus, Ben Werdegar – FIFA 22
Tony Mesones, Ivan Pavlovich, David Scott – Grand Theft Auto Online: the contract
Glenn Herweijer, Ben Sumner – Life is Strange: True Colors

Comments are closed.